Andy Jagar #3954

Andy Jagar #3954

Age: 10 years

Gender: Male

Breed: Golden Hearted

Weight: 33 lbs.

Status: Matched for Adoption

******* Update 8/1/2021

I have super exciting news to share with you!  I just had to let you know that I have been matched for adoption and my new family and home is ready and waiting for me!  Thank you all so much for watching over me for the time that I have been hoping for my new family.  I couldn’t be happier!

******* Update:   07/12/2021

Andy checked in with us to let us know his vet visit was a success and the stitches are now out from being neutered.  Now he has hit the pool, chasing lizards and he is relieved to not be wearing that cone!

Hi, Andy here again!

I just thought I’d share my foster’s mom high praise for me.  She says, “I’m such a sweetheart with a mild manner and easy going personality.”  She’s delighted that I sit patiently at the door waiting for my leash to go on.  

I’ve met lots of new people and dogs on our walks; I love all of them but I prefer to greet them and move on rather than playing.  I’d love to cuddle with my human at night in the bed, but her cat was there first so I’m very understanding and remain on the floor. I’m working on some new commands and do quite well with them when I’m rewarded with pets and praises.  I’m really enjoying my life here, but I’m still looking for my forever family.

 

I guess you’re wondering how I ended up on a retriever rescue site as I sure don’t look like a retriever, and, of course, I’m not. I’m a Cocker Spaniel, but I lived with two labradors who were surrendered to GRRMF. These amazing people opened their hearts and arms to me and are searching to find my forever home. I feel very special that they care enough about me and my siblings to help us out.

Actually, if I do say so myself, I am pretty special.  According to my foster mom, “ I am a total sweetheart who just seems happy hanging out with her,” which is definitely true.  I’m not a velcro dog even though I do enjoy being near my humans.  I will wait by the door until my foster mom returns.  In a few short days she has figured me out.  I really enjoy my walks as long as they are not too long.  I look at the lizards and rabbits, but I’m way too mature to be chasing after them.  For me pure bliss is when someone scratches my ears and chin or better yet a good old belly rub. I really don’t have much interest in playing with toys as my life is full with my walks, naps and cuddles.

 

Since I’m telling you all about me, I want you to know about my manners.  You will be quite impressed if I do say so myself.  As I said I lived with two labs. Now I have a cat in my life, but I am not bothered by him so no worries about my behavior around other animals.  I’m OK with or without siblings.Crating is unnecessary as I’m fine when left alone. 

 

I know “sit” but sometimes I have to be reminded what it means.  My foster mom is being very patient in teaching other commands to me.   Riding in the car is not my favorite thing to do even though I’m getting more comfortable with each ride.

I enjoy the car more if I’m in the front seat with my foster mom.  Sometimes I might bark if I hear loud noises outside; otherwise, I am quiet.  I’m afraid my eyesight isn’t as good as it used to be but, hey, that happens to the best of us as we get older.  Overall, I think I am well mannered and quite the find for anyone looking for a well behaved older pup who will be your faithful companion.  Can you find it in your heart to give me a forever home.

Love, Andy

 

×

- Want To Adopt -

If you are writing us about adopting a dog and do not have an adoption application on file with us, use this link to review our policies and process and complete an application.

If you have completed our adoption application, and/or have another inquiry, please use the email link to contact us.

Adoption Application Email Us